Tagged: sir arthur conan doyle Toggle Comment Threads | Keyboard Shortcuts

  • gilwilson 6:02 PM on July 25, 2018 Permalink | Reply
    Tags: , , sir arthur conan doyle   

    “A Study in Charlotte: Charlotte Holmes, Book 1” By Brittany Cavallaro 

    35518931A Study in Charlotte
    By: Brittany Cavallaro
    Narrated by: Graham Halstead, Julia Whelan
    Series: Charlotte Holmes, Book 1
    Length: 9 hrs and 6 mins
    Release date: 03-01-16
    Publisher: HarperAudio

    Before I start this I have to say that everyone, no matter what age needs to read the original Sherlock Holmes stories by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.  Those cases are fun reads, will trigger not only your imagination but also the analytical side of your brain as you try to solve the cases with Holmes and Watson.  Now, with that being said, I also encourage any further stories that advance the Sherlock Holmes mythos, yeah there are some bad ones but there are plenty of really good ones.  This is definitely one of the good ones.  Not only focusing on the Young Adult reader audience, this story also triggers interest in the past stories.  I’ve even gone to read some of those stories again (especially the ones mentioned in this book) because I just had to visit the origins of Holmes & Watson.

    This story introduces the reader/listener to the latest crime-solving duo who are descendants of the originals.  Having to live in their elders shadow doesn’t seem to be an issue, as they immediately jump in to the crime solving mode and work together as the originals.

    I have to admit that at first I thought of turning Sherlock into a teenage girl as a gimmick that is done only for the gimmick’s sake.  As it turns out I was pleasantly surprised at how not only did it not matter but in this story made the idea a little better than a mere gimmick.  Yeah, the story did at first seem like the beginnings of one of those horrid teen romance novels (no shiny vampires here), instead the friendship and trust between a teen girl Holmes and a teen boy Watson was developed realistically.

    In this story Jamie Watson and Charlotte Holmes are attending a Connecticut boarding school together when a fellow student dies under mysterious circumstances, and once again the game is afoot.  Charlotte’s analytical mind and Jamie’s support bring about a fun crime solving romp through Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s world.  Charlotte even has inherited some of Sherlock’s vices and Jamie has to be there for support.

    I may have to continue this series soon, but before I make that promise I have other Holmes retellings to get through.

     

    Publisher’s Summary
    The first book in a witty, suspenseful new trilogy about a brilliant new crime-solving duo: the teen descendants of Sherlock Holmes and John Watson. This clever detective yarn will appeal to fans of Maureen Johnson and Ally Carter.

    Jamie Watson has always been intrigued by Charlotte Holmes; after all, their great-great-great-grandfathers were one of the most infamous pairs in history. But the Holmes family has always been odd, and Charlotte is no exception. She’s inherited Sherlock’s volatility and some of his vices – and when Jamie and Charlotte end up at the same Connecticut boarding school, Charlotte makes it clear she’s not looking for friends.

    But when a student they both have a history with dies under suspicious circumstances, ripped straight from the most terrifying of the Sherlock Holmes stories, Jamie can no longer afford to keep his distance. Danger is mounting, and nowhere is safe – and the only people they can trust are each other.

    This production includes a bonus excerpt from The Last of August, the second audiobook in Brittany Cavallaro’s Charlotte Holmes Series.

    ©2016 Brittany Cavallaro (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers

    Advertisements
     
  • gilwilson 5:20 PM on January 22, 2018 Permalink | Reply
    Tags: , sir arthur conan doyle   

    The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes By: Arthur Conan Doyle 

    The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes8548907
    By: Arthur Conan Doyle
    Narrated by: Ralph Cosham
    Length: 9 hrs and 10 mins
    Release date: 08-14-09
    Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.

    You may have read my earlier review of a Young Sherlock Holmes book, after listening to that audiobook I wanted to listen to a “real” Sherlock Holmes book. So I found this collection, and I’m so glad I did. Ralph Cosham does a remarkable job narrating the story changing voices between characters. His Watson is just perfectly spot on and makes the entire collection worth listening to all day long.

    The fun of a Holmes story is always in the Sherlock revealing how he deduces the outcome. The common observations are sometimes the ones that solve the crime but there are times when something not revealed in the story is the solution, you just really never know. Thus making Sherlock Holmes a fun read for anyone.

    Publisher’s Summary

    In the more than 100 years since Doyle created the immortal Sherlock Holmes and his assistant, Dr. Watson, no other mystery writer has come close to eclipsing him as the standard bearer in crime fiction. A brilliant London-based “consulting detective,” Holmes is famous for his intellectual prowess and is renowned for his skillful use of astute observation, deductive reasoning, and inference to solve difficult cases. Holmes is at the height of his powers here in this collection of 12 of his most famous cases, including “The Red-Headed League” and “The Adventure of the Speckled Band.”

    (P)2009 Blackstone Audio, Inc.

    Includes the following cases:

    “A Scandal in Bohemia”

    “The Red-Headed League”

    “A Case of Identity”

    “The Boscombe Valley Mystery”

    “The Five Orange Pips”

    “The Man with the Twisted Lip”

    “The Adventure of the Blue Carbuncle”

    “The Adventure of the Speckled Band”

    “The Adventure of the Engineer’s Thumb”

    “The Adventure of the Noble Bachelor”

    “The Adventure of the Beryl Coronet”

    “The Adventure of the Copper Beeches

     
c
Compose new post
j
Next post/Next comment
k
Previous post/Previous comment
r
Reply
e
Edit
o
Show/Hide comments
t
Go to top
l
Go to login
h
Show/Hide help
shift + esc
Cancel
%d bloggers like this: