Shattered The Iron Druid Chronicles, Book 7 By: Kevin Hearne

The Iron Druid Chronicles, Book 7
By: Kevin Hearne
Narrated by: Luke Daniels
Length: 12 hrs and 43 mins
Release date: 06-17-14
Publisher: Random House Audio

Someone found out that I am a Jim Butcher “Dresden Files” fan and told me I should check out Kevin Hearne.  At first I was thinking, but the main character is a druid not a wizard.  But alas they were right I should check Kevin Hearne out.  I did and am now a fan.

Atticus O’Sullivan is a modern day druid.  To be more accurate he is a druid in modern times and is able to maintian the original magicks yet still stay somewhat anonymous.  With a team or maybe just a group of friends with an assortment of powers is able to keep at bay a variety of the world’s different gods.

Atticus’ apprentice, Granuaile, is now a full Druid and finds herself fighting off a spirit that has possessed her father.  To fight this spirit she needs help from the Yeti.  This interaction is so great.  I found myself picturing the hockey rink which she had to make for the Yeti after they learn of the sport.  In return the will make her a special blade that will kill the fire spirit possessing her father.

Atticus also at this time rescues his mentor, Owen, from a time trap in which he then has about 2,000 years of catching up to do.

All of this is leading up to a big battle against Loki, who has been “chasing down” Atticus for some time.

The humor, action and all around fun make for a nice fantasy escape novel.  I would put this up against Jim Butcher anytime.  In fact Kevin Hearne has joined in my favorite group of authors alongside Jim Butcher.

Making Magic Modern seems to be the goals of both authors and if this book is any sign of the rest of the series, I have a lot of catching up to do and will have to do it soon.

Luke Daniels as narrator presents the book in a great performance that keeps the listener intrigued and entertained.

Publisher’s Summary
Acclaimed author Kevin Hearne spins a new novel in his epic urban fantasy series starring the unforgettable Atticus O’Sullivan.

For nearly 2,000 years, only one Druid has walked the Earth – Atticus O’Sullivan, the Iron Druid, whose sharp wit and sharp sword have kept him alive as he’s been pursued by a pantheon of hostile deities. Now he’s got company.

Atticus’ apprentice, Granuaile, is at last a full Druid herself. What’s more, Atticus has defrosted an archdruid long ago frozen in time, a father figure (of sorts) who now goes by the modern equivalent of his old Irish name: Owen Kennedy.

And Owen has some catching up to do.

Atticus takes pleasure in the role reversal, as the student is now the teacher. Between busting Atticus’s chops and trying to fathom a cell phone, Owen must also learn English. For Atticus, the jury’s still out on whether the wily old coot will be an asset in the epic battle with Norse god Loki – or merely a pain in the arse.

But Atticus isn’t the only one with daddy issues. Granuaile faces a great challenge: to exorcise a sorcerer’s spirit that is possessing her father in India. Even with the help of the witch Laksha, Granuaile may be facing a crushing defeat.

As the trio of Druids deals with pestilence-spreading demons, bacon-loving yeti, fierce flying foxes, and frenzied Fae, they’re hoping that this time, three’s a charm.

©2014 Kevin Hearne (P)2014 Random House Audio