AC_Perhapanauts_Sleeve

Audiobook Review: “The Perhapanauts in ‘Monsters Among Us, or, Chimaera Wanna Tellya Somethin'”

Adapted from the graphic novel series The Perhapanauts by Todd Dezago and Craig Rousseau by Todd Dezago and Elaine Lee

Full Cast Performance

Published by AudioComics Company.

Length: 51 mins

 

I have been a comic book fan for over 40 years (yeah, I’m that old) and have read them for as long as I can remember. Comic books are fun, exciting and even help in the development of vocabulary and reading skills. I knew an English professor that for part of the semester he would hand out comic books and have the class read them and point out the language used is much more than what you would expect. I never took his class but I’m sure it would have been a blast.

 

So as I grow older I seem to have less time for comic books. Many are available in digital format for reading on the computer and tablets, but even so, time is a limited asset. I have been a consumer of audiobooks for many years and have loved the fact that I can use my work commute, shower time, household chore time and various other times to “read” a good book. Thanks to a few very creative audiobook publishing companies, comic books can now be presented in audio format. One of the difficulties of bringing a comic book to life in an audiobook form is, well, let’s face it, the art work.

 

To make up for the lack of the visual aspect of the artwork many these publishing companies bring the comic to life with excellent voice actors, stunning sound effects and an all round aural ambiance that make these audiobooks as complete of an experience as absorbing the visual artwork of a comicbook. AudioComics Company does this so well that each time I see one of their creations come available, I jump on it and give it a listen as soon as possible.

 

This time around I wasn’t sure what I was getting into, I just knew it was an audiobook created by AudioComics based on a comic book. “The Perhapanauts” is a  comic book series featuring the creations of writer Todd Dezago (Sensational Spider-Man, Tellos, Young Justice) and Craig Rousseau (Impulse, Batman Beyond, Spider-Man Loves Mary Jane). Adapted from the comics by Todd Dezago and Elaine Lee, the audiobook is a new story based on the existing comics.

 

What can you expect, well the Perhapanauts team is controlled by the organization called Bedlam, the team isbuilt around characters from cryptozoological tales. The leader is Big, a sasquatch, who has a super-genius I.Q. The rest of the team include; Chooie, a chupacabra, Molly, a ghost, Karl, a mothman and others.

 

In this audio premiere of the series a new member of the team is told of one of the past about the team’s mission against the shape-shifting Chimaera. While an exciting adventure about how the team uses their unique skills/powers to capture the Chimaera there is something else going on in the telling of the story. Very unique story with some great twists, turns and fun dialogue that make this a series that will get you hooked and wanting for more.

 

I have added the Perhapanauts comics to my list of to read comics, when time avails itself to me, but until then I’m going to be hanging on the edge waiting for the next in this series from AudioComics Company.

