stolenprey

Audiobook Review: “Stolen Prey” (#22 in the Lucas Davenport Series)

By John Sandford

Read by Richard Ferrone

Published by Penguin audio

Approx.  11.5 hours

 

I’m off exploring some cop stories and I happen to receive this audiobook last year from Penguin Audio and it has been sitting on my “not-sure-whether-or-not-it-is-my-cup-of-tea” shelf.  This is a shelf of audiobooks that sound intriguing but I’m not yet familiar with the author or whether I will like the story.  I go to this shelf when I’m no sure what I want to hear.  Many times I have started a book from this shelf and have been let down and not able to finish the book.  This time around I was not let down and was intrigued throughout the entire book.

 

The reader of this audiobook, Richard Ferrone, has a unique “gravelly” voice that is at first tough to hear, but after a while he grows on you and his ability to create characters within his vocal limits is surprising.  His voice threw me off and I wasn’t sure whether I could continue listening, but as the story sucked me in, I got used to his voice and even to appreciate the qualities carried in the sound.

 

As for the story itself, that’s what makes this book.  This novel has one main story running through it but it seems as if the main character of the book, Lucas Davenport of the Minnesota BCA (Bureau of Criminal Apprehension), has several cases going on at one time.  The book opens with Davenport being mugged after his morning jog.  The muggers seem like a couple of meth-heads, but they have done the muggings before and when all is said and done they make off with $500 (which was just pulled from an ATM) from Davenport and breaking his wrist as they knock him down.  He then begins his personal investigation to catch these two low-lifes.

 

Seeking the help of another cop, another case is receiving the help of Davenport, this one is one of a stolen statue where the priceless statue is believed to be already chopped up and sold for brass scrap.  This is not yet the main case but in helping on this one Davenport gets help to find his muggers.

 

But wait, that still is not the main plot of this book.  The main plot of this book is revealed when Davenport arrives at a murder scene where a family of four and their two dogs are found brutally murdered.  One of the victims has his fingers chopped off and the digits are used to write a message on the wall in blood, that message; “Were Coming” (no apostrophe).

 

As it turns out, one or both of the parents are involved in a crime where they are stealing money from a bank account and through many wire transfers laundering the money into gold coins with the help of several techies from a local bank.  This group of nerds have found a way to turn twenty million dollars from a “dirty” account into gold and able to make themselves rich.  The problem is, the account they are stealing from belongs to Los Criminales del Norte, drug lords from Mexico.  The money is drug money and the drug lords do not like someone else holding their money.  The Criminales send hired murderers to Minnesota to retrieve their stolen money.

 

Davenport begins working this case trying to track down the thieves before the Criminales do and at the same time trying to track down the Criminales thugs.  All this time he is tracking down his muggers and helping track down the statue thieves.

 

Lots of action and lots of suspense in this novel.  Honestly, I’m thinking Lucas Davenport is way too busy of a man and needs a vacation after this novel alone.  I think I will be checking more of these novels and probably some others from John Sandford.

