Sell-Is-Human-Daniel-H-Pink

“To Sell is Human: The Surprising Truth about Moving Others”

written and read by Daniel H. Pink

Published by Penguin Audio

Approx. 6 hours

 

Sales, just the thought of the word always gave me the heebie-jeebies. My long career in radio has allowed me to work alongside pretty much all types of what we lovingly refer to as sales-weasels. I’ve always thought that they were a completely different species (homo salesians?). I’ve worked with the best and the worst, the one who is your friend and confidant until the sale is done, and ones who are none stop sales pitch in every aspect of their speech. The sales force is necessary in all aspects of business, but definitely not for me, right? Well according to the latest book by Daniel H. Pink, one in nine Americans work in sales, and so do the other eight.

 

In today’s age of information, the sales person’s method has changed. The example of car salesmen is the best proof. There was a day when a consumer would go onto a car lot and basically be at the mercy of the sales force. The salesman had all the information and the consumer had to rely on them for the truth. Today any consumer can go online shop for prices look for similar models available at other dealerships and go in fully armed. The consumer now guides the sales process.

 

Whether you are pitching and idea to a colleague, enticing funders to invest in your project or teachers convincing children to study, we are all in sales now. Daniel Pink teaches in his latest book the science and art of selling. He shows how the old salesman stereotype is outdated and that the extroverted pushy sales person today will not make the sales, rather, what makes the sale is one who is able to be empathetic, and a good combination of the extrovert and introvert.

 

Throughout the book (which is formed in the style of a textbook, with the concepts through the chapters and practice exercises at the end of each chapter) Pink demonstrates through examples in real life and through the social sciences how you can become a better modern day salesperson. The “ABCs” of sales is no long “Always Be Closing,” but rather “Attuned, buoyant and Clear.” Each concept is explained through the book.

 

Pink even offers new sales pitch formats in this enlightening book. Some of the pitches he pitches are; the Rhyming Pitch, The Question Pitch and others.

 

All the information about selling yourself or a product in today’s information age can be found in this book. This book is not just for sales people, I would recommend this book to parents, teachers, bloggers, well actually to everyone. I was just curious about the book and requested to review it from Penguin because of my job’s close dealings with sales people, but by the end of the book I found several ways to improve my own daily functions in my job and home life.

 

The author, Daniel H. Pink, also reads the audiobook and from hearing this one book from him, I would say he is a great lecturer and teacher. His delivery kept the information interesting and at times entertaining. His sincerity and enthusiasm for the subject is clearly heard through his delivery and actually becomes contagious. I don’t think I’m going to go out and join my radio station’s sales team, but I will be able to offer ideas and even help my career move along.

 

