dcgl02large

“Green Lantern: Sleepers (Volume 2)”
by Christopher J. Priest & Michael Ahn
Multi-cast performance
Produced by GraphicAudio
Approx. 6 Hours

Yes I will fully accept the fact that I am a nerd, I love my comic books. I used to be such a die hard fan of comic books that I even picked a side. I was the hardcore Marvel comics fan, so much so that I wouldn’t even look at a DC comic. Later in life I learned, it was okay to like all the comics. I began reading some of the other publishers like; Image, Dark Horse, et. al, but when it came to DC I just felt like I was cheating for some reason. I liked to read The Flash, and Batman, but for the other heroes I just couldn’t make myself do it.

In comes my love for audiobooks and what lead me to where I am now. I used to make monthly road trips that would last about 8 hours and I would pass the time with audiobooks, on top of that my work commute was 30 – 45 minutes depending on Kansas City traffic, so there was more time for audiobook absorption. So I had more time for comics than audiobooks. Then to my amazement a few years ago I was introduced to GraphicAudio because of their production of some comic book novelizations into audiobooks. GraphicAudio was taking some DC comics novels and turning them into audiobooks, but not just an audiobook rather, “A movie for your mind.”

GraphicAudio uses a highly skilled team of voice actors, out of this world sound effects and ready-for-theatrical-release music and mixes it all in to make the superheroes come to life in full 3d sound and mental imagery. GraphicAudio has a great library of DC comics based audiobooks and I understand will be working on some Marvel collections soon (I can hardly wait for those productions). These productions are nothing short of amazing. When you think of comics you think of the great artwork that steers the story. GraphicAudio is able to take the comic artwork and bring it to your mind through sound. Their sound effects sound just as though they are leaping out of the pages of a comic, not the funny “kapows” and “blams” but with Earth shattering explosions, and the sound of Green Lantern’s aura that sounds as though it is surrounding you as the listener. GraphicAudio has created the perfect way to listen to comic books.

This audiobook is the second in a series written by Christopher J. Priest and each book is linked in a very cool way that makes it so as a fan you have to read or, in this case, listen to, all the books. I won’t give away how they are linked because it is a bit of a spoiler, and I don’t like to give out too many spoilers. This book covers the Golden Age Green Lantern, Alan Scott.

“Sleepers Book Two” tells the origin story of how Alan Scott and how he came to fight crime as the Green Lantern. The other aspect of this story that makes it unique is that the Golden Age of comics occurred during World War II, and while nations were at war this super hero was fighting bank robbers not Nazis. With that aspect a question is formed, “Why doesn’t he go wipe out the Nazis, with all that power he yields?” Well eventually the Green Lantern, Alan Scott, does go overseas but once he does he meets up with Malvolio, a Green Lantern (at least at first appearance to Alan) who can help Alan discover what it means to hold the power of the Green Lantern. The beginning of this book explains the origin of Malvolio and the nice part of this is that the reader/listener knows that Malvolio is not a good guy and only the worst can be expected.

In the beginning of the book it is revealed that Malvolio is a 17th-century supervillain, actually an anti-Green Lantern who wants to take over the world. The Guardians imprison Malvolio, but he escapes and makes it back to Earth just in time for WWII. Malvolio decides to cut a deal with Hitler that endangers the entire Allied campaign in Europe and the Pacific. Not one to think small, he is determined to eliminate the entire Green Lantern Corps, destroy Earth, and decimate all other worlds that have ever had the protection of a Green Lantern.

Great origin story, great production and great super-powered battles make this a must hear audio book from GraphicAudio.

