“I Hate Everyone…Starting with Me”
Written and Read by Joan Rivers
Published by Penguin Audio
4 hours 53 minutes
Strap in folks, when you give this book a listen, you are going for a hilarious thrill ride down Joan Rivers’ completely non-PC hate list. There were several occasions during the listening of this audiobook where I was cringing from the non-politically correct statements, but also laughing out loud, especially when Joan was putting down the Kardashians, but that’s just me. There are very few comedians left that aren’t afraid to be politically incorrect. Joan’s humor used to be mainly self-deprecating but as she’s perfected her craft she’s pushed the “hate” outwards to other people.

In Joan Rivers’ new book, “I Hate Everyone…Starting with Me,” she does hate everyone. This book is a good form a therapy, maybe not so much for Joan but for the listener. You can listen to this audiobook and let her do the complaining for you. No one is safe, from celebrities to the folks working fast food, Joan hates them all and gives some very good reasons.

I especially liked the focus on celebrities, because, come on, admit it, some of these celebrities just don’t know how to handle fame and we get to watch the meltdown. Joan isn’t saying anything that most of us aren’t already thinking. There are many things in the book I won’t give away but I do have a few of my favorites to pass on to you. She hates actors who lie about their ages, take themselves too seriously, or jump on the Hollywood fad bandwagon (Kabalah, clubs, et. al). She says, “Theater actor’ is an old English word that means ‘cater waiter.'”

No one is safe, vegans (“God gave you incisors, so what’s the problem?”), Anne Frank (“She only had one book to write, and she didn’t even finish that.”), senior citizens, gays (but she loves her gays), Whitney Houston, Britney Spears, awards shows and more. In fact I don’t think there’s anything she doesn’t hate. After nearly five hours of listening time she ran the gamut of things to hate. I will admit that there were times where it would get a bit worn out, but just when I would start to groan or give up she’d be on another rant and cracking me up. So, definitely worth the listen, just don’t do it at work, she can get a racy with the language, and the “f-bomb” is dropped quite often in this book, as well as a few other harsh words.

All in all, I think this book convinced me that Joan Rivers is not the has-been I thought she was, she still has it and isn’t afraid to spew it.

