“God’s Eye”
by A.J. Scudiere
Multicast performance
Published by Griffyn Ink Corp.
15 hours and 25 minutes

Every once in a while I venture into the new publisher/author/audio producer realm of audiobooks and it can be hit or miss.  This book was a mix of a lot of hit and a little miss.   I have been asked before why I never write a bad review, and my answer is because I never read or listen to a bad book.  If a book is bad I put it down and don’t bother with it.  With all those good books out there why should I waste my time?  So with that in mind and reading this review you know that this was not a bad audiobook…but….there were some moments which need to be pointed out so you can be prepared for them.

I think I’ll have to address this review in segments, so first I’ll start with the writing and story itself.  The writing is very dark and the story is very intriguing.  So there is the win.  The basis of the story is that Katherine Geryon works in a financial investment company, in fact, her name is in the company name, Light & Geryon.  Okay to be exact, her father’s name is on the company, but hey you get the idea.  The company funds projects and gets high returns on their investments.  Katherine’s job is research.  She looks into company histories to see if return on investment is high enough to sink money into the project.  This becomes important later in the book, but I’ll leave that surprise up to you to find for yourself.

The main concept behind the story is a war  between an angel and a demon for Katherine’s soul.  The two, Zachary and Alistar, must win over Katherine and she must make a decision as to which one to go with.  One will win and the loser will die.   The problem that Katherine has is that she is seduced by both and once she finds out she must make the decision she cannot figure which one to go with.  To be fair A.J. Scudiere’s writing is so ingenious that even the reader/listener cannot determine which is the angel and which is the demon.  I have to say I was rooting for one or the other to win throughout the book, and kept changing which one that I couldn’t figure out which was which until the very end, and then I said to myself, “I knew it,” but in reality the mystery through the book kept me guessing throughout.  That aspect alone makes this book a very nice escapism piece of horror fiction.  I enjoyed the writing and storyline immensely.

The book is a multicast performance in which each different character was read by a different voice actor.  When the story was from Zachary’s point of view you’d hear his voice and from Katherine’s you’d hear her voice with all dialogue performed by each actor.  This was nicely done and with the added bonus of having Ed Asner (yes THAT Ed Asner) as the voice of Katherine’s father, the voice work was nice.  The actor portraying Zachary had a very interesting super deep voice that kept me interested in his side of the story.

At this point here’s were some of the non-hit part of the audiobook took place.  While the actor portraying Alistar was superb in his performance, his voice just seemed to be too old for the part written, but he made it work and made it more bearable.  The actress portraying Katherine did another superb job….but…there were three words that drove me buggy throughout the entire book, and they were enunciation problems.  The words; wouldn’t, couldn’t and didn’t would sometimes come out as; woont, coont and dint, and that just totally irritated me.  If the story hadn’t been so good I would have stopped listening.  (yeah, I know that’s a bit picky, but it just didn’t belong in this story.)

Being touted as an “AudioMovie,” I was thinking there would be more in production for this audio book.  There were some sound effects thrown in that helped to mentally visualize the settings of some of the scenes and when the cell phone would ring and the story called for the character to be startled, it would startle me also.  So the sound effects are very subtle and there were times where they seemed a bit forced, or maybe that more were needed.  They went for the middle of the subtle and full-blown production and I think it worked, but there were moments.   The really cool parts were the sound effects used when portraying the changes from the other worldly creatures to humans, some sounds that just don’t occur naturally and the production company created some nice effects that could give some people nightmares, and that’s a good thing.

All around I would recommend this audiobook and say enjoy the constant twist and turns that create a nice supernatural mystery, but just be prepared for a few slips here and there.

